Amazing Day

Today was the first time I had a class of kids to myself. In reality, however, 5 kids is quite a small “class,” but I certainly felt like a teacher. From 2:45pm on, I taught two 90 minute classes, with recess in between each class. First I taught the kids translations of verbs, and then we conjugated them. I also played a game on the board where I wrote vocabulary in English, and then divided the class into two teams. One representative from each team would face off wherein the first student who slapped his pencil onto the word I called out would win. When I was in high school learning Spanish, we used to play this game with fly-swatters or yard sticks, but here in Otavalo we work with what we have.

Later on we went outside to play “Simon Says.” We practiced verbs, using commands like “run,” and “play,” wherein the kids had to act out or mime the verbs I called out. We made believe, for example, that we were jumping rope or shooting a basketball when I called out “Play!” For “read,” I had the kids unfold their hands like they were opening a book.

Teaching is certainly draining. I have realized that I tend to personalize a lot of events in my life, and so for example, if a kid does not understand something, or is not catching on as quickly, I feel bad out it, and obligate myself to impart the knowledge unto him. Yet sometimes as hard as I try to compel certain kids to learn, they just don’t get it as well as I want them to. I know that there is only so much I can do in a 90 minute class when I have to cover what seems at times like an unreasonable amount of material… And so I have to constantly remind myself that it’s not my fault that some kids are just slower than others, or perhaps some kids have been given better foundations than others, and I can’t control that. Furthermore, it’s impossible for every kid to get a scholarship, and as hard as I try, there will always be people who just don’t clear the bar.

On a positive note, when I teach the advanced kids I am totally refreshed. They are like sea sponges that just suck up knowledge and love the taste. When I teach someone a new concept and they understand it, but even better, enjoy it, I feel like I am doing something great.

Leave a comment